Skip to main content

2023 Interprofessional Educational Team Award

Congratulations to U Health faculty Dr. Timothy Farrell, Dr. Linda Edelman, and Dr. Kara Dassel, who were selected by the University of Utah Academy of Health Science Educators to receive the 2023 Interprofessional Educational Team Award on behalf of the Utah Geriatrics Education Consortium (UGEC). 

The UGEC is a Health Resources and Services Agency (HRSA) funded Geriatrics Workforce Enhancement Program that aims “to improve health outcomes for older adults by developing a healthcare workforce that maximizes patient and family engagement, and by integrating geriatrics and primary care.” The UGEC interprofessional faculty team provides health professions students with positive exposure to geriatrics and gerontology through training programs and activities that generate knowledge and enhance skills. Most programs are developed by interprofessional faculty and staff teams and are appropriate for students from any health profession program. Programs include online courses or modules and interprofessional education (IPE) courses. Activities include individual mentoring and graduate student advising.

Linda Edelman RN, Ph, FGSA, FAAN is a Professor in the College of Nursing and Director of the Utah Geriatric Education Consortium at the University of Utah. 

Kara Dassel, PhD, FGSA, FAGHE, is a professor and Assistant Dean of the Gerontology Interdisciplinary Program in the College of Nursing at the University of Utah.

Timothy Farrell, MD, AGSF, is a Professor of Medicine (Clinical) and Geriatrics Division Associate Chief for Age-Friendly Care at the University of Utah School of Medicine and a Physician Investigator at the VA Salt Lake City Geriatric Research, Education, and Clinical Center.

The Academy of Health Science Educators’ Advancing Excellence in Education Committee will showcase their contributions to health science education at the AHSE annual Education Symposium. They will also be acknowledged at the Academy of Health Science Educators Induction Ceremony on April 18, 2023. 

We are happy to recognize this exceptional team!

Linda Edelman
Kara Dassel
Timothy Farrell