Skip to main content

Change in Research Advisory Panel (RAP) Membership

Dr. Ramiro Garzon Appointed as new RAP member

The Department of Internal Medicine (DOIM) wishes to announce the change in its Research Advisory Panel (RAP) membership.

The RAP was established in 2018 and tasked to develop and recommend strategies and policies in research to the Department Chair. It also evaluates and provides input to the Department Chair regarding research faculty recruits.

Since its inception, RAP membership has included the Vice Chair for Research (currently Dr. Alfred Cheung), an administrator (Scott Low), and five additional members:

•          Dr. James Fang, Chief, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine

•          Dr. Corrine Welt, Chief, Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism

•          Dr. Sankar Swaminathan, Chief, Division of Infectious Diseases

•          Dr. Robert Paine, Chief, Division of Respiratory, Critical Care, and Occupational Pulmonary Medicine

•          Dr. Matthew Samore, Chief, Division of Epidemiology

Starting in August 2023, RAP membership will begin to rotate. Dr. James Fang will step down from RAP. We thank Dr. Fang for his outstanding contributions over the past five years.

Dr. Inadomi has appointed Dr. Ramiro Garzon to become the new RAP member. Dr. Garzon is a physician-scientist whose research focuses on leukemia's molecular mechanisms. Dr. Garzon attained his medical degree from the National University of Córdoba in Argentina. He completed an Internal Medicine residency in Connecticut, Hematology and Oncology Fellowship at Thomas Jefferson University and a leukemia fellowship at Ohio State University. He joined the University of Utah as the Division Chief of Hematology and Hematologic Malignancies in August 2022. Dr. Garzon serves on the Huntsman Cancer Institute Research Leadership Council and the newly established Clinical Innovation and Excellence Committee.

Dr. Ramiro Garzon
Dr. James C. Fang